BNP-backed Zainul, Khokon reelected president, secy of SCBA


PV Desk : BNP-backed lawyers secured 10, including president and secretary, out of 14 executive posts of Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA).

After vote casting for 2 days in the SCBA polls, results were published on Friday afternoon (March 23).

BNP-Jamaat backed Jatiyatabadi Ainjibi Oikkya Pannel’s Zainul Abedin was reelected president while JAOP’s AM Mahbub Uddin Khokon was reelected secretary.

BNP chairperson’s adviser Zainul defeated former SCBA president and ruling Awami League-back Sammilita Ainjibi Samannay Parishad Pannel candidate Muhammad Yusuf Hossain Humayun by 54 votes.

Mahbub defeated former SCBA joint secretary and SASPP candidate Sheikh Mohammad Morshed by more than 441 votes.

Humayun is also a working committee member of the Awami League.

Pro-Awami League lawyers won the rest four posts — assistant secretary Md Abdur Razzak, members Ashraful Hadi, Shahana Parveen and Sheikh Muhammad Maju Miah.

Eight other BNP-backed office bearers included vice-presidents Golam Mostafa and Golam Rahman Bhuiyan, assistant secretary Kazi Mohammad Joynal Abedin, treasurer Nasreen Akhter, members Mahfuz Bin Yusuf, Ahasan Ullah, Shofiul Alam Mahmood and Mohammad Mehedi Hasan.

A total of 4,865 lawyers out of total 6,152, cast their votes at the SCBA auditorium in Dhaka from March 21 to 22.