Mahmudullah lifts Tigers’ in Nidahas Trophy final


PV Sports Desk : Mahmudullah scored a match-winning knock as Bangladesh stormed into the final of the Nidahas Trophy T20I Tri nation series beating hosts Sri Lanka by two wickets in the nail-biting sixth match of the series held on Friday at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, Sri Lanka.

Chasing a winning target of 160-run set by Sri Lanka, Bangladesh reached home for the loss of eight wickets with one ball to spare.

Now Bangladesh will play the final against India scheduled to be held on Sunday (March 18) at the same venue.

Akila Dananjaya struck on Bangladesh’s innings in the fourth ball of the second over as he sent back to opener Liton Das for duck. He then dismissed Sabbir Rahman for 13 with Bangladesh stuck at 33 for 2 in 3.5 overs.

Inform batsman Mushfiqur, who hit two consecutive fifties in Bangladesh’s last two matches, came into the crease to join with Tamim Iqbal. The duo shared 64-run for the third wicket stand to take the team to a comfortable position.

But, Sri Lanka again fought back as Aponso sent back to Mushfiqur Rahim, who scored 25-ball of 28-run laced with two boundaries before giving a catch to Thisara Perera.

After Bangladesh suffered little wobble as they lost opener Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar in a consecutive overs. The southpaw opener superb with bat as he composed 42-ball off 50-run hitting four boundaries and two over boundaries before he fell to Gunathilaka while Soumya departed from the crease after scoring 10 runs.

But Mahmudullah kept his wicket in tack and ensured Bangladesh’s victory in a style hitting a big six of Isuru Udana. The right handed all-rounder blasted 18-ball off 43-run hitting three boundaries and two over boundaries to secure his team’s victory to remain unbeaten till the end of the innings.

Akila Dananjaya was the pick of Sri Lankan bowler as he claimed two wickets for 37 runs.

Earlier, responsible half centuries by Kusal Perera and Thisara Perera helped Sri Lanka to post a competitive total of 159 for 7 from their allotted 20 overs, after they were put to bat first by Bangladesh.

Shakib Al Hasan threatened early inroad on Sri Lankan innings as he removed opener Gunathilaka for 4. Other opener Kusal Mendis also lasted a little as he fell to Mustafizur Rahman, leaving Sri Lanka in trouble.

Sri Lanka lost three more wickets – Upal Tharanga, Dasun Shanaka and Jeevan Mendis – in span of 21 runs.

The hosts desperately needed a solid partnership in this crucial stage to rebuild the innings. Kusal Perera kept his nerve cool as he paired an useful 97 runs for the sixth wicket stand to take Sri Lanka to a comfortable position.

Wicket keeper left handed batsman Perera hammered 40-ball off 61 runs laced with seven boundaries and one over boundary before Soumya Sarkar broke the stubborn partnership removing Perera who gave an easy catch to Mehidy Hasan.

Cameo Thisara Perera provided an ample support to his partner as blasted 37-ball off 58-run, an innings that studded with three boundaries and equal number of over boundaries before he perished to pacer Rubel Hossain.

Bowling sensation Mustafizur Rahman was the pick of Bangladesh bowler as he claimed two wickets giving away 39 runs.