39 receive Shishu Sahitya Award


PV Desk : Thirty-nine literateurs received Shishu Sahitya award (Agrani Bank-Bangladesh Shishu Academy Shishu Sahitya Puraskar) for the last six Bangla years (1418-1423) on Saturday (March 10).

Finance Minister Abul Maal Abdul Muhith, as the chief guest, handed over crests and honor certificates to the awardees, at a ceremony held in the Shishu Academy auditorium in Dhaka at noon.

Bangladesh Shishu Academy Chairman writer Selina Hossain chaired the function.

Introduced in 1981, the award was earlier called ‘Agrani Bank Shishu Sahitya Puraskar’ which was later renamed as ‘Agrani Bank-Shishu Academy Shishu Sahitya Puraskar’ in 2008, said the academy director Anjir Liton, in the welcome speech.

State Minister for Women and Children Affairs Meher Afroz Chumki was also present.

The awards were given in classified categories of children’s literature– rhyme-poetry-song, story-novel-mythology, Bangabandhu-Liberation War-biography, translation-travelogue, health-science-technology, acting and illustration.

The authority halted the award for the last six years since 1418 and announced those Saturday.