BNP-Jamaat lawyers dominate in Ctg Bar Association elections


PV Desk : Lawyers supporting the BNP and Jamaat-e-Islami have gained control in the Chittagong Bar Association election.
The panel won 12 of among the 19 positions, including the general secretary. Pro-Awami League lawyers, clinched the post of president and the six remaining posts.
Pro-BNP and Jamaat-backed lawyers took 12 of the 19 positions in the race, including the post of general secretary. Awami League-backed lawyers took the remaining seven seats, including the post of president.
The results were announced early on Monday morning by Chief Election Commissioner Nazmul Ahsan Khan Alamgir.
Sheikh Iftekhar Saimul Chowdhury was elected president after receiving 1,336 votes while SM Badrul Anwar came second with 1,074, he told.
Nazim Uddin Chowdhury was elected general secretary with 1,485 votes, while Abul Hanif came second with 644.
The election saw 3,085 of 3,737 potential voters cast their ballots.