BCB announces 16-member squad for tri-series

BCB Logo

PV Sports Desk : Opener Souyma Sarker and pacer Taskin Ahmed were the notable omission as Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced a 16 member squad for the first and second ODI in upcoming tri-nation series.

However, scoring heavily in the domestic circuit saw Anamul Haque was picked in the 16-member squad ahead of Soumya Sarker and Taskin Ahmed.

Another omission was from South African tour was wicketkeeper batsman Liton Das and in his place Mohammad Mithun was drafted in. Nasir Hossain who was in very good form in domestic circuit caught the selector’s eyes and found his place in 16-member squad.

Surprisingly Sabbir Ahmed retained his place despite his recent disciplinary issues.

Bowling all-rounder Abul Hossain, who on his debut against West Indies in 2012 to become the first cricketer to hit a century from number 10 also was drafted in with all-rounder Mohammad Saifuddin managed to retained his place.

Chief selector Minhazul Abedin said Soumya ‘s exclusion was his inconsistency but he believes he will find the form and will retain his place with consistence form.