Bangladesh, Myanmar form joint committee for Rohingya repatriation


PV Desk : Bangladesh and Myanmar have finalized a 15-member composition of the Joint Working Group (JWG), a body who will handle the Rohingya repatriation process.
Both the countries reached to the progress following negotiation upon the terms.
Bangladesh Foreign Secretary Shahidul Haque and his Myanmar counterpart U Myint Thu signed the TOR (Terms of Reference) of the Joint Working Group (JWG), in a meeting at the State Guest House Meghna, in presence of Bangladesh Foreign Minister AH Mahmood Ali.
A nine-member Myanmar delegation led by its Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs U Myint Thu discussed with Bangladesh delegation and finalized the TOR. Representatives from relevant Ministries/agencies of both countries participated in the meeting.
Agreed TOR mandates the JWG to undertake all necessary measures to start the safe and voluntary return, resettlement and reintegration process of displaced Myanmar residents as envisaged in the ‘Arrangement on Return of Displaced Persons from Rakhine State, signed by A H Mahmood Ali and U Kyaw Tint Swe, Union Minister at the Myanmar State Counsellor’s Office on November 23, 2017 in Naypyitaw.
According to the TOR, the JWG will develop physical arrangement for return, which would include mechanism of verification, time schedule, transport and logistic arrangements, reception procedures, communication etc. to commence the repatriation process within the stipulated time frame mentioned in the ‘Arrangement’.