8 to die, 11 get life for killing Tipu in Habiganj


PV Desk : A district court has sentenced death penalty to eight people and life term imprisonment to 11 others for hacking one Dewan Mahasin Tipu, to death in Madabpur of Habiganj.
Judge of Habiganj Additional District and Sessions Judge’s Court Mafroz Parvin passed the order on Wednesday (Aug 23).
The death row convicts are- Sudhangshu Sutradhar, Subhash Sutradhar, Ershad Ali, Abdul Male, Ataur Rahman, Abul Kashem, Abu Lal and Mosharraf Hossain.
Convicts who awarded life sentence are- Hormuz Ali, Mostaq Ahmed, Janu Mia, Shanu Mia, Javed Mia, Zaheer Mia, Bakul Mia, Amir Ali, Dulal Mia, Sayed Mia and Kamal Mia.
The court also acquitted three others (Shah Abdul Gani, Abu Mia and Abdul Majid) in the case as the prosecution was failed to produce enough evidence against them.