Cabinet nods proposal to establish 7 overseas missions


PV Desk : The cabinet today gave its assent to set up seven new consulates abroad as part of country’s efforts to enhance trade, diplomatic and cultural ties with countries at different parts of world.

“The cabinet approved the foreign ministry proposal in this regard at its weekly meeting with Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in the chair,” Cabinet Secretary M Shafiul Alam told a news briefing emerging from the meeting at Bangladesh Secretariat.

He said the proposed consulates would be set up at Aghan capital Kabul, Sudanese capital Khartoum, Free Town of South Africa, Rumanian capital Bucharest, India’s Chennai, Australian city of Sydney and Toronto of Canada.

Cabinet members, state ministers and concerned secretaries attended the meeting which also gave approval with retrospective effect to a decision of setting up 17 diplomatic missions abroad.